Home > About

Mission Statement: The Walter E. Olson Memorial Library welcomes and supports all people to connect, learn, discover, and grow.

The Walter E. Olson Memorial Library has more than 6,000 cardholders of residents and seasonal visitors, and serves an overall population of over 10,000 from the 6 municipalities that make up our service area.  The collection includes popular books, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and a range of "Library of Things" resources.

The Walter E. Olson Memorial Library is established under Chapter 43.53 of the Wisconsin Statutes as a joint library and is governed by the Walter E. Olson Memorial Library Board of Trustees.  The Walter Olson Library Friends (W.O.L.F) and the Walter E. Olson Memorial Library Foundation provide additional funding and programming support for WEOML.  Six municipalities supporting the joint library are: Town of ConoverTown of CloverlandTown of LincolnTown of St. GermainTown of Washington and the City of Eagle River.

Memberships: WEOML is a member of 1) the Northern Waters Library Network Consortium and 2) Northern Waters Library Service (NWLS), an eight county regional public library system that includes more than two dozen libraries located in Northern Wisconsin.

The Executive Library Director of our joint library is required to hold a Grade I certificate issued by the WI Department of Public Instruction.  Educational requirements for this certification must be from a library school program accredited by the American Library Association.

About the Library

Ask A Librarian

Ask a Librarian (Wisconsin) is a FREE, online information service.  Note that you may be chatting with someone from one of the consortium libraries in Wisconsin. Wisconsin librarians are usually online weekdays from 7:45 am to 5 pm.
learn more >